​High Point Educational and Missionary Baptist Association, Inc.

Moderator Rev. Alex Turner
Executive and General Secretaries

About Us

Meet Moderator
Rev. Alex Turner
Pastor Belview Baptist Church

We are about Missions...

The High Point Missionary Baptist Association was organized in High Point, NC in August of 1889.  Reverend Anthony Wilborn, Spencer Thomas, F. R. Howell, and W.D. Haden and others composed the organization and took the name where the first meeting was held.  Considered as one the of small associations and composed of small churches, no association in the state of NC was more loyal to the work of the State Convention than the High Point Association.
In 1919, the Association added the Sunday School Convention, now known as the Congress of Christian Education. In 1913, the Woman's Auxilary, and in 1940, the Usher Board now known as the HELPS Ministry.  The Association continued to progress and thrive under the leadership of Moderators J. B. Ellis and W. L Wilson.

Today, the Association is known as The High Point Educational and Missionary Baptist Association to highlight not only our missionary efforts, but to incorporate the education of its members and to promote the welfare of member churches. During the Association's One Day Sessions, Revival and Annual Sessions in the summer, the ministry and mission of the HPEMBA is introduced and taught to all who attend the sessions.  The HPEMBA provides support for its member churches and congregants. To date, there are over thirty churches registered with HPEMBA.  

Rev. F. Parham                           1889-1890
Rev. F. W. Long                         1894-1910
​Rev. Spencer Thomas                1910-1913
Rev. J. E. Boykins                       1913-1924
Rev. J.B. Ellis                             1924-1949
Rev. W. L. Wilson                       1949-1989
Rev. Dr. W. E. Brannon               1989-1993
Rev. Dr. James R. Rudd             1993-1997
Rev. Dr. James A. Webster      1997-2001
Rev. Dr. J.T. Walker                   2001-2005
Rev. Dr. John Jackson                 2005-2009
Rev. Dr. Samuel J. Cornelius   2009-2012
Rev. Ronnie McLaughlin           2012-2017
​Rev. Alex Turner 2017-present